Counselor Supervision Model

I use the Integrated Developmental Model (IDM) of Supervision. IDM allows for fluidity as a Supervisee progresses through the supervision process. IDM is one of the most commonly used and most researched models of supervision. This because is descriptive, allowing for clear evaluation, and prescriptive, allowing for planning and employing intervention methods/strategies (approach). 


The Integrated Developmental Model (IDM) of Supervision Basics

IDM has three key markers for Supervisees to meet intertwined with four levels of progression. The three keys markers are: 
Self-other awareness (cognitive/affective),
• Motivation
• Autonomy
The four numerical levels veer from being a novice to master professional. At each level, the Supervisee demonstrates distinctive skills and competencies that are discoverable/observable along the process of supervision. The IDM process is not linear. You can be at different stages (levels) for each of the three markers simultaneously


The Eight Domains of IDM

In following the framework of the Integrated Development Model, the goal is for a Supervisee to achieve the (top) fourth level, within the three markers, along eight domains. The eight domains are:

1. Interventions Skills Competence
2. Assessment Techniques
3. Interpersonal Assessment
4. Client Conceptualization
5. Individual differences
6. Theoretical Orientation
7. Treatment Plans & Goals 
8. Professional Ethics


An Effective Framework & Platform
Because I have a natural ‘teaching’ style, IDM offers a strong foundation to be a useful framework. The Integrated Development Model of supervision is a platform that supports my personal style being effectively applied in counselor supervision.


Georgia Counselor Supervision Questions?
CONTACT ME at (404) 920-8046 or